Cave basketball squads to attend summer camps

May 29, 2009 CAVE CITY — The senior boys and girls basketball teams at Cave City school will travel to different states this summer in an effort to improve their games.The school board voted unanimously Tuesday to allow the out-of-state trips, Superintendent Steven Green said.Boys’ Coach Jimmy Hodges will take his senior high team to a three-day camp in Murray, Ky., in June.Girls’ Coach Russell Fowler and his team will travel to Fort Walton Beach, Fla., for a four-day camp in June.

Area Briefs

May 29, 2009 Car wash to benefit mission tripFellowship Bible Church’s Guatemala mission team will hold a benefit car wash from 9 a.m. to noon Saturday at O’Reilly Auto Parts in Batesville.All proceeds will go for the team’s trip to Guatemala in June. The team members will be working in orphanages, holding a medical clinic and building houses, according to a news release. BCT announces auditions

Domestic charges filed against Sulphur Rock man

May 29, 2009 A weekend-long domestic dispute between a Batesville couple ended with the man’s going to jail for the second time Tuesday morning.Independence County Deputy Dee McFatter said that around 9 a.m. she and other officers responded to a domestic violence call at 243 S. St. Louis St. regarding Robert E. Morgan, 35, breaking out a window at the residence.

Teachers hired, reassigned

May 29, 2009 CAVE CITY — The Cave City School Board hired and reassigned several employees Tuesday, Superintendent Steven Green said.Actions included hiring Amy Tracy as a nurse for two days per week, reassigning aide Vernita Morris as middle school secretary, reassigning Kim Carter as special education clerk, hiring Kim Bradley and Carla McComas as classified aides, hiring Wendy Holland as a recovery aide and hiring Vicki Tackett as a three-hour lunchroom worker.

School to receive almost $1.5M in stimulus funds

May 29, 2009 CAVE CITY — School directors at Cave City agreed Tuesday on a number of projects they hope will be approved for funding by almost $1.5 million in stimulus money, Superintendent Steven Green said.The money is properly known as American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 funds.“Our district is receiving money in three categories — $318,776 in special education, $247,837 in Title I and $848,815 in stabilization over a two-year period,” Green said.

Mountain crash injures driver, destroys truck

May 29, 2009 Rescue personnel spent several tense minutes extracting Randy Jo Lambert from his pickup following a one-vehicle crash on Hutchinson Mountain just before 1 p.m. Thursday.Independence County Deputy Randy Sharp said Lambert, 53, of 3729 Camp Tahkodah Road, was eastbound on Camp Tahkodah Road, just west of McGough Road, when he lost control of his 1995 Ford Ranger pickup and ran off the right side of the road.Sharp said when Lambert over-corrected, causing the truck to go into a slide.

Batesville students to compete in event

May 29, 2009 When the world championship archers meet in Florida, Batesville students will be participating.The Eagle Mountain Magnet Archery Team scored 3,044 points out of a possible 3,600 and made 85 bull’s-eyes. They were ranked 11th nationally out of more than 120 elementary teams.“Everyone was crowding around us wanting to know what our secrets were, and what magic we had performed on this group. They were just amazed,” coach Susan Parker said.

Coleman transfers to Pipers

May 28, 2009 Jordin Coleman, a 5-foot-7 guard from State Fair Community College in Sedalia, Mo., has transferred to Lyon College and is set to play women’s basketball for the Pipers, according to a news release from the college.Coleman averaged 5.8 points, three assists and two steals in her second season at State Fair. She will be a junior for the upcoming season.

News of other days

May 28, 2009 Editor’s note: This column ran previously in the Guard on June 10, 1996. 

College Briefs

May 28, 2009 AAA recognizes graduatesLITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Activities Association recently recognized three graduating seniors at Cedar Ridge High School with its Active Scholar Award.This year’s recipients are Whitney Crutcher, Jacy Fraser and Krysta Wright.