Sniper mastermind executed

November 11, 2009 JARRATT, Va. — Sniper John Allen Muhammad refused to utter any last words as he was executed, taking to the grave answers about why and how he plotted the killings of 10 people that terrorized the Washington, D.C., area for three weeks in October 2002.The 48-year-old died by injection at 9:11 p.m. Tuesday as relatives of the victims watched from behind glass, separated from the rest of the 27 witnesses at Greensville Correctional Center, south of Richmond.

News of Other Days

November 11, 2009 Editor’s note: This column ran previously in the Guard on Nov. 26, 1996. 

Berry acknowledges veterans

November 11, 2009 WASHINGTON, D.C. — United States Representative Marion Berry released this statement honoring servicemen and women in uniform and their families on Veterans Day.

ASU adds program

November 11, 2009 JONESBORO — Arkansas is in need for teachers in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields and Arkansas State University has a new program to help fill this need while providing financial support to students who want to become mid-level or high school teachers of science or math.Through the National Science Foundation’s Noyce Program, ASU will be able to offer up to three years of full tuition, fees, room and board to junior or senior students pursuing the bachelor of science degree in one of the STEM disciplines, a news release states.

Students recognized

November 11, 2009 MELBOURNE — Melbourne Elementary students who have performed well in school are being recognized as Super Bearkatz. Students who have had good attendance, have completed their homework and classroom assignments, have come to classes prepared, have demonstrated good behavior and have not been referred to the office for misbehavior more than once, will be awarded each nine weeks.

Cave City Honor Roll

November 11, 2009 CAVE CITY — The students listed below made the honor roll for the first nine weeks of the 2009-10 school year at Cave City High School, according to a news release:

Batesville High School Honor Roll

November 11, 2009 The students listed below made the honor roll for the first nine weeks of the 2009-10 school year at Batesville High School, according to a news release: Tenth: all A’s — Crist Blackwell Jr., Natasha Bray, Lauren Cambias, Ryan Coles, Sadie Duke, Christopher Elms, Kassie Foreman, Heather Green, Lauren Gunderman, Nelson Heringer, Russ Hughes, Breanna Martin, Brittany Martin, Hallie Mossman, Amy Mullins, Quinton Smith, Micah Thatch; general — Cindy Avarez, Cameron Bailey, Spencer Barnes, Samuel Beary, Maggie Beshears, Logan Bishop, Crist Blackwell Jr., Jordan Blue, Natasha Bray, Aimee Brixius,

Little Rock Nine home shows off renovations

November 11, 2009 LITTLE ROCK (AP) — Every day before heading to Little Rock Central High School in the fall of 1957, nine black students gathered at Daisy and L.C. Bates’s home to prepare for the angry mob they faced as they integrated the all-white school. “It was kind of like a war room in a sense,” said Carlotta Walls LaNier, one of the black students commonly known as the Little Rock Nine. “It was a place that we gathered and got ready to go to school and where we would come back to.

Pilot sentenced for drugs

November 11, 2009 LITTLE ROCK (AP) — A charter pilot at the North Little Rock airport who pleaded guilty to distributing methamphetamine has been sentenced to more than four years in prison.U.S. Attorney Jane Duke says 42-year-old Joseph Henderson III pleaded guilty last month to conspiracy to distribute meth. Duke says witnesses told authorities that they bought methamphetamine from Henderson from a hangar at the municipal airport in North Little Rock. According to Duke, Henderson was arrested in September 2008 and authorities found methamphetamine and a smoking pipe.

Peabody honors Skip Rutherford as Duck Walk of Fame recipient

November 11, 2009 LITTLE ROCK — The Peabody Little Rock has named James L. “Skip” Rutherford, dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service, the 2009 recipient of the Duck Walk of Fame award. This award honors those who have worked to revitalize downtown Little Rock and includes previous recipients Doyle Rogers and Dr. Dean Kumpuris.