Four land UALR scholarships

March 17, 2010 LITTLE ROCK — The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has announced several local scholarship recipients, according to a news release.Brandy Compton, daughter of Lissa and Wayne Compton of Evening Shade, received the Dean’s Academic Merit scholarship.Timothy Sturch, son of Ross and Stephanie Sturch of Batesville, received the UALR Freshmen Award scholarship.Sonia Dayberry of Sidney and Sandra Byrd of Cave City both received the Shelby Breedlove transfer scholarship.

Newton wins contest

March 17, 2010 Kyle Newton, a student at Southside School, progressed from winning the Veterans of Foreign Wars Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest at the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post, District and then the State Level.The Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest is held as a part of the Voice of Democracy Scholarship Competition, where more than $3.4 million in scholarships and incentives are handed out nationwide, according to a news release.Newton’s paper will now be forwarded to Kansas City and will be judged on the national level.

Single parent funding offered

March 17, 2010 Melbourne — The Izard County Single Parent Scholarship board has announced a May 1 deadline for applications to be submitted. To be eligible, a student must be a resident of Izard County and the single head of household with a child under the age of 18 in the home. Applicants must also be high school or GED graduates.

ASU presents slate of summer camps

March 17, 2010 Jonesboro — Arkansas State University has scheduled a lineup of academic camps, institutes and workshops for the summer that are available to children, students, teachers and the general public.“There is something for everyone,” said Dr. Michael Bowman, interim dean of Regional Programs. “We believe people of all ages can participate in summer activities at ASU that will be both fun and educational.”The summer camp schedule, with contact information, is as follows:

Elementary is honored with award

March 17, 2010 The National Center for Educational Achievement, a group under the umbrella of ACT, Inc., recently awarded West Elementary Magnet the Just for the Kids Campaign Higher Performing Schools Award. The award is based on an analysis of two measures: growth and being in the top 5 percent of schools who meet the college and career readiness standards developed by the National Center for Educational Achievement and ACT, Inc.

Schools receive money

March 17, 2010 Four schools in Independence County are putting up a fight against childhood obesity. Thanks to the Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission, Department of Education Office of Coordinated School Health and Arkansas Children’s Hospital, that fight just got a little easier. Thousands of dollars in federal money was awarded to 28 school districts in Arkansas last week courtesy of the Arkansas Child Wellness Intervention Program Grant, and Cedar Ridge Middle School, Cord-Charlotte Elementary, Newark Elementary and Eagle Mountain Magnet were among them.

Arts center posts results for young artists exhibition

March 17, 2010 LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Arts Center announces the results for the Young Arkansas Artists 49th Annual exhibition. The exhibition will be held at the Arkansas Arts Center Community Gallery at the Terry House on April 9-May 23.

Inspirational store opens in Batesville

March 17, 2010 Books, cards, baby items, home decor, Sunday school items and more — these are some of the things customers at Deni’s Inspirations will find, store owner Denise Magness said.The store will hold an open house Saturday with free drawings throughout the day.

Two resign from fair board

March 17, 2010 Two people have resigned from the Independence County Fair Board.The board, which has 24 members in all, met Monday night, at which time treasurer Paula Lovell and board member Melissa Kemp gave their resignations, according to Linda Baxter. Baxter said “there was no reason given.”Also at the meeting, the board agreed to split the treasurer’s position and assign the duties to two people. Lynn Bachman was appointed treasurer and Charles Jordan was named bookkeeper.