4th victim dies from twister

January 5, 2011 CINCINNATI, Ark. (AP) — The Washington County sheriff’s office says a fourth person has died from injuries suffered when a tornado swept through the northwest Arkansas town of Cincinnati during the predawn hours of New Year’s Eve.The sheriff’s office said Tuesday that the latest victim was 95-year-old Nell Porter.Previously reported victims were 88-year-old Gerald Wilson, his 78-year-old wife, Mamie Wilson, and 78-year-old Dick Murray.

Kevin Wade Johnson Foundation launches with kickoff

January 5, 2011 A foundation has been created in honor of a man remembered for his Christian works.Founded in honor of Kevin Johnson, a double heart transplant recipient, The Kevin Wade Johnson Foundation’s mission is to spread the gospel of Jesus and glorify His name through evangelism, Christian missions, and organ donation awareness, according to a news release.

Burglaries, thefts reported during holiday

January 5, 2011 Several burglaries and thefts were reported by deputies over the holiday weekend, according to reports released Monday by the Independence County Sheriff’s Office.Ray Daigle, owner of 3-D Glass on Allen Chapel Road, told Deputy Duane Grice on Friday the business was burglarized between 4 p.m. Thursday and 8 a.m. Friday. About $166 was taken from a cash drawer in the office area.The burglar or burglars got into the building by pushing in a window air conditioner.

Judge takes control

January 5, 2011 MELBOURNE — The first order of business for the newly elected county judge in Izard County was to establish order at quorum court.

Lyon grads find work in Capitol

January 5, 2011 Two recent Lyon College graduates have found their way to Washington, D.C., joining the staffs of two Arkansas members of Congress.Bridget Nutt of Jonesboro, class of 2010, is working as a staff assistant for U.S. Rep. Rick Crawford at his Washington, D.C. office.“I will manage the interns, answer phones, schedule Capitol/White House tours for visiting constituents, and be the first smile a person sees when he/she enters our office at 1408 in the Longworth building,” she said.

Range almost ready

January 5, 2011 The towers are complete, all concrete work has been done, storage buildings are being erected, electrical power is run and hydraulic machinery is being fine-tuned before being bolted down.This all means that the first field at the new Independence County shooting clays complex is mere days away from being ready to use. Three fields are planned.

Husband survives ‘rat shot’

January 5, 2011 SALEM — The new Fulton County sheriff had only been in office a short period of time before he almost had a murder case on his hands.Almost.Sheriff Buck Foley said a $25,000 bond has been set for Doris E. Horgan who has been charged with criminal attempt, murder in the first degree, which is a class A felony.The call came into the Fulton County Sheriff’s Office Monday from Doris Horgan of Mammoth Spring saying she had shot her husband James, and it had not been an accident.

Library open 7 days a week

January 4, 2011 The Independence County Library is open seven days a week and features a new website, www.indcolib.com, launched in late 2009.The library located at 368 E. Main in Batesville is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Mondays, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesdays through Saturdays and from 1:30 to 5 p.m. on Sundays. For more information about holiday closing call (870) 793-8814.

Prayer shawl group to meet

January 4, 2011 BETHESDA — The prayer shawl knitting/crotcheting group meets every Thursday at 6 p.m. at Bethesda Campground Methodist Church. Refreshments are served, and all are welcome, according to Joyce Williams.For more information, call Williams at (870) 799-3743.

Free smoke detectors, fire extinguishers offered

January 4, 2011 The Batesville Fire Department is offering free smoke detectors and fire extinguishers and will install them at no charge. This service is only available to residents in the city limits.The fire department received a $2,500 grant from State Farm to buy 516 smoke detectors including batteries then bought the fire extinguishers at a fraction of the retail price through federal surplus.