GOP meeting to be Thursday

August 4, 2010 The Independence County Republican meeting will be at 7 p.m. Thursday at Western Sizzlin in Batesville. A White River Regional meeting will be held at the same time.A Dutch-treat meal will begin at 6.

Sharp County bans burning

August 4, 2010 ASH FLAT — A ban on burning has been issued in Sharp County, effective immediately, County Judge Larry Brown said.The ban will remain in effect until further notice.“After checking with Gene Moore, Sharp County fire department coordinator, the state forestry service and others in various parts of the county, the burn ban was detemined to be in the best interests for the people of Sharp County,” Brown said.

Bonds wins special election, legality still in limbo

August 4, 2010 MOUNTAIN VIEW — It wasn’t a tie this time.Unlike the previous runoff election that threw Stone County and state election officials into a quandary as to what to do, challenger Lance Bonds easily defeated Sheriff Todd Hudspeth 1,950 to 1,555 for the Democratic nomination in a special-called election Tuesday.A dispute remains, however.“The judge hasn’t ruled on it. It’s still pending as to whether it was legal for Gov. (Mike) Beebe to call the election,” Stone County Clerk Donna Wilson said this morning.

ICEDC showing positive results

August 4, 2010 It’s been one year since Ed Mabry was formally named the executive director of the Independence County Economic Development Commission, and the quarter-cent sales tax passed by the county is showing positive results.The county held a special election on Dec. 9, 2008 for a quarter-cent economic development sales tax. The tax passed by a comfortable two-to-one margin: 1,674 votes in favor and 855 against.

Smith named to Dean’s list

August 3, 2010 Nicole Smith has been named to the 2010 spring semester Dean’s List at University of Arkansas at Little Rock College of Science and Mathematics. The Dean’s List is made of students with a GPA of 3.5 or higher and are enrolled in nine or more hours, according to a news release.

Whitehurst named Ozarka’s FNBC scholar

August 3, 2010 MELBOURNE — The Ozarka College Scholarship Committee has named Meagen Whitehurst of Melbourne as the First National Banking Company scholarship recipient.  She will be awarded $1,000 for tuition, fees and/or books during the fall 2010 semester. The scholarship will be renewed up to three semesters providing she completes 12 credit hours each semester with a minimum grade point average of 2.75. 

Vocational board discusses events

August 3, 2010 The Batesville Junior High vocational advisory board met July 14 in the home economics department at the junior high school to discuss events for the coming year.Karen McShane, family and consumer sciences teacher at the junior high school, shared with the group the changes and progress that has been made in the vocational department. Family, Career and Community Leaders of America grew from 40 to 110 members last year, and the group hopes to compete at the local and state events this year.

ASU-Beebe announces Chancellor, Vice Chancellor honor recipients

August 3, 2010 BEEBE — ­Two hundred forty-one students at Arkansas State University-Beebe have been cited for academic achievement, announced Dr. Ted Kalthoff, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. This includes students who attend ASU-Beebe campuses at Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, and the Little Rock Air Force Base.

Three earn academic distinction scholarship

August 3, 2010 Three students have been awarded the Academic Distinction Scholarship to the University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville, announced Melissa Sisco, director of financial aid.Derek Brandon Ford of Ash Flat graduated from Highland High School. He is the son of Francis Brandon.Chelsea Hendrix of Newark graduated from Cedar Ridge High School. She is the daughter of Randy and Marla Hendrix. She plans to seek an associate of science.