Arkansas Trails Day set for May 7, celebrates state’s diversity of trails

April 22, 2011 LITTLE ROCK — Each year members of the Arkansas Trails Council (ATC) are joined by other trail enthusiasts from across the state to celebrate Arkansas Trails Day. For this year, Gov. Mike Beebe has proclaimed May 7 as Arkansas Trails Day 2011. This annual event focuses attention on the state’s abundance and wide diversity of trails while encouraging the public to enjoy a trail that day.

Service News

April 22, 2011 Three area men have recently enlisted into the Arkansas Army National Guard, according to a news release.Pvt. Jacob Daughtry of Oil Trough will attend basic training followed by advanced individual training. Upon returning to Arkansas, Daughtry will serve with Foxtrot Company 39th Brigade Support Battalion in Cabot. He has earned education benefits including federal tuition assistance and the Montgomery G.I. Bill, valued at $49,844.

Area WBC students named to Who’s Who

April 22, 2011 Walnut Ridge — Two area students have been selected for the 2011 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and CollegesCollege faculty and editors of the directory select students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success. Those selected for the honor are listed in a nationwide directory, which has been published annually since 1934.

Byars earns juris doctorate

April 22, 2011 LITTLE ROCK — The 2011 commencement ceremonies at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law will be held at 12:30 p.m. May 21 at the Statehouse Convention Center.Among those to graduate with a juris doctorate degree is Kara Byars of Charlotte, daughter of Ron and Aralene Byars of Charlotte. Byars is a Bowen Merit Scholar, has served on the trial competition team and has been a member of the Court Appointed Special Advocates of Pulaski County and the Henry Woods Inn of Court.

BHS student awarded

April 22, 2011 CONWAY — Katie Cummins of Batesville, a senior at Batesville High School, has received both an academic scholarship and Odyssey Honors and Distinction award for professional and leadership development to attend Hendrix College at Conway beginning in the fall of 2011.Cummins is the daughter of Tom and Susie Cummins.

2 named to ATU cabinet

April 22, 2011 RUSSELLVILLE — Arkansas Tech University has selected 30 students to serve as members of its Presidential Leadership Cabinet during the 2011-12 academic year. Among them are Alan Fulcher of Batesville and Hunter Robinson of Bradford.Presidential Leadership Cabinet members support the Office of the President and the Office of Alumni Relations by serving as student leaders and hosts at university functions throughout the year.

Man sentenced for murder

April 22, 2011 FORT SMITH (AP) — A Sebastian County Circuit Court judge has sentenced a man to 35 years in prison for killing an Oklahoman in November 2009.Judge James Cox followed the recommendation of the jury that convicted 19-year-old Quincy Plessy Wednesday of first-degree murder and using a firearm in the commission of a crime. Plessy received 30 years for the murder and five years on the weapons charge.

Woman’s death ruled homicide

April 22, 2011 HARTMAN (AP) — Johnson County authorities say the death of a woman whose body was found in a remote area near Hartman has been ruled a homicide.Sheriff Jimmy Dorney says state Crime Lab officials have determined 57-year-old April D’Andrea of Clarksville was killed. Dorney declined to reveal the suspected cause of death but said that detectives believe they know what happened to D’Andrea.D’Andrea was reported missing Nov. 23 after not being seen for more than a month. Her remains were found April 9 by two fishermen on the bank of a pond in a remote area south of Hartman.

Judge says sales tax needs repeal

April 22, 2011 MURFREESBORO (AP) — The county judge in Pike County says he wants to repeal a countywide 3/8-cent sales tax.The tax was approved by voters in 2006 so support the county-owned Pike County Memorial Hospital. The hospital was closed in 2009 and has been sold to a Kentucky company that plans to eventually reopen it.County Judge Donald Baker said that with the hospital no longer owned by the county — the tax needs to be rescinded.

Soldier collapses, dies in training

April 22, 2011 FORT CAMPBELL, Ky. (AP) — A Fort Campbell soldier has died after collapsing during physical training at the Army post on the Kentucky-Tennessee line.A statement Thursday from the Army says the death Monday of 29-year-old Spc. James Lewis Smith of Conway, Ark., is under investigation.Smith was a water treatment specialist assigned to the 101st Airborne Division. He joined the Army in May 2005 and arrived at Fort Campbell in April 2011.