Report: 1 in 4 won’t keep lotto scholarships

July 13, 2011 LITTLE ROCK (AP) — The Arkansas Department of Higher Education projects that at least a quarter of students who received lottery-funded scholarships won’t keep them in the coming school year.The department on Tuesday released its projections on the status of students receiving Academic Challenge scholarships for the coming fall. It predicts that 75 percent of the 31,172 students receiving the scholarship will retain it in October.

Intermediate tatting workshop to be taught

July 13, 2011 POWHATAN — A workshop for intermediate tatters is set for 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. July 30 at Powhatan Historic State Park, said interpreter Kristyn Watts.The registration fee for the workshop, Christmas Tatted Ornaments for Intermediate Tatters, is $20. The registration fee covers the cost of materials.“Begin your Christmas in July by learning to make your own heirloom-quality lace Christmas tree ornaments,” Watts said.


July 13, 2011 SOUTHSIDE — Additional information has been provided in regards to Southside Elementary’s recent honor roll.Second-grader Cheyenne Strother earned all A’s.

Boy seeks Big Brother; program funding cut

July 13, 2011 Nine-year-old Marcus Jackson is like other boys his age. He loves football, catches frogs and turtles, thinks Chuck E. Cheese might be the greatest restaurant ever and plays lots of video games. But at times he’s been the only male in a house full of females, and as much as loves his mom, there are times he’d just like to be able “to do things with someone besides my mom.”

Baton twirlers compete for glory, prizes

July 13, 2011 LITTLE ROCK (AP) — Emery Harriston pulls nine-hour days as an IT specialist for the Environmental Protection Agency. Then, he goes home and twirls batons.At 49, he’s the oldest competitor in the U.S. National Baton Twirling Championships, which are being held this week in Little Rock.Part gymnastics, part dance and a whole lot of rhinestones, the annual twirling competition has attracted some 600 twirlers to a basketball court in central Arkansas.

Democrat wins House seat

July 13, 2011 MARION (AP) — A Democrat has won a special election for a House seat vacated by a former member of the Harlem Globetrotters.According to unofficial results late Tuesday from the Crittenden County Election Commission, Hudson Hallum received 987 votes, independent D’James Rogers got 537 votes and Republican John Geelan had 415 votes.The winner will replace House District 54 Rep. Fred Smith, a Democrat who resigned in January after he was convicted of felony theft.

$150,000 to boost arts in LR

July 13, 2011 LITTLE ROCK (AP) — Efforts to revitalize historic buildings in Little Rock have gotten a $150,000 boost from the National Endowment for the Arts.Officials said Tuesday the NEA Our Town Grant will go toward developing a “creative corridor” for the visual and performing arts on Main Street.

Death in mobile home fire deemed a homicide

July 13, 2011 HOT SPRINGS (AP) — Garland County authorities say the death of a man found in a burning mobile home last week is being investigated as a homicide.Sheriff’s deputies received a call about 9 a.m. Friday of a mobile home fire in the county. Fifty-four-year-old Lonnie Weston was found dead at the scene and his body was sent to the state crime lab to determine a cause of death.Authorities said Tuesday that the lab found what appeared to be gunshot wounds on Weston’s body.Investigators have no suspects in the case.

Trichomoniasis: New rules are now in effect for cattle producers

July 13, 2011 An emergency regulation aimed at stifling the spread of Trichomoniasis, a protozoal disease that can cause abortion and infertility in cattle, went into effect June 15.Trichomoniasis, commonly called “Trich,” is caused by Tritrichomonas foetus, a small motile protozoan found only in the reproductive tract of the bull and cow. The organisms are transferred to the cow from the bull during breeding and infect the uterus, producing a sticky discharge.